You Want Me to Write What?

Nicki Greenwood asked me to answer some questions on my blog about the books I’m writing at the moment. For those of you who aren’t familiar with Nicki, she’s a wonderful author who adds paranormal elements to her stories.

What am I working on?
I don’t normally do this, but I’m working on two stories at the moment.
Morgan’s Folly is set in England and Ireland during the late Georgian Era. This is a rather dark story because of the subject matter and antagonist.
Highland Yearning is set in Scotland (1775) This is a light-hearted tale that involves time travel and a Highland Laird, Caden Mackay, who learns to believe in love’s magic.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I try to give my stories unexpected twists and a large dose of romance. I enjoy alpha heroes and strong minded women. The great thing about romance is that we get to watch as two people fall in love. I focus on that journey which can be devastating, daunting, or delightful, depending on the character’s choices.

Why do I write what I do?

I decided long ago that I wanted to write “Happily Ever After.” There is enough sadness in the world, and I believe love and romance inspire hope.

How does your writing process work?
I write in spurts. When I’m not actually writing, I’m thinking about my stories. Ideas come to me in all forms. Sometime I hear a name and think “That’s a great name for a hero.” And the story will start with him. At other times, I hear of a fascinating bit of history and want to wrap a story around the facts. Like the day I discovered there were men called “Witch Pricker’s” during the era of burning witches.(Highland Son’s) No matter how the story starts, it’s my characters and their decisions about what they want in life that matter. None of them think they are looking for love, but they discover true happiness when love finds them.

Leave a Reply

